Yeimy Rivera award spring 2021

Climate and Space PhD Wins Baldwin Prize

Award is given for original and significant contributions as measured in scholarly publications.

One year after winning the Towner Prize, CLaSP PhD Dr. Yeimy Rivera is selected to receive the Baldwin prize from LSA Physics.

The Ralph B. Baldwin Prize in Astrophysics and Space Sciences is an award sponsored by a generous gift to the University by Dr. Ralph B. Baldwin. Applicants must show original and significant contributions to their field as measured in their scholarly publications.

Student applications are selected from the fields of Astronomy, Atmospheric, Oceanic, and Space Science; Chemistry; Physics; Geology; and Mathematics as they pertain to space, its bodies, and relevant physical processes. The prize is awarded annually to a student who has received a University of Michigan Ph.D. during the previous year. A faculty committee comprised of representatives from the appropriate departments judges the packages submitted on the basis of the excellence of their research activities revealed in the student’s thesis and publications during their career.

Dr. Rivera received her doctorate in September, 2020 and is currently a post-doctoral researcher at the Center for Astrophysics at Harvard. She works on bridging compositional measurements between the Sun and the heliosphere to address long standing questions behind the release and energization of solar plasma.

Congratulations, Dr. Rivera!