Department of Climate and Space Sciences and Engineering in the College of Engineering at the University of Michigan


James Slavin
[ Download CV ]

James A. Slavin

Professor and Chair

Office: 1517 SRB
Phone: (734) 764.0392
[ Link to website ]


1976 ‑ B.S., Physics, Case Western Reserve University
1978 ‑ M.S., Geophysics & Space Physics, University of California at Los Angeles
1982 ‑ Ph.D., Geophysics & Space Physics, University of California at Los Angeles


Solar System Magnetic Fields

  • Magnetospheric Physics
  • Solar wind interactions with weakly-magnetized planets and comets;
  • Space-borne Magnetometry

Honors, Awards and Accomplishments

  • 2012: Elected Fellow of American Geophysical Union
  • 2009: NASA Group Achievement Award, MESSENGER Mission
  • 2008: NASA Exceptional Achievement Medal for Space
    Technology 5
  • 2007: NASA Group Achievement Award, Space Technology-5
  • 2006: NASA Certificate of Appreciation for Excellence in Leadership as Space Technology 5 Project Scientist
  • 2006: University of California Regent's Lectureship in Space Physics
  • 2004: NASA Exceptional Achievement Medal for Role of Magnetic Reconnection in Magnetospheric Substorms
  • 2004: NASA Group Achievement Award, Cluster Mission
  • 2000: NASA Group Achievement Award, Sun-Earth Connection
    2000 Roadmap Team
  • 1998: NASA Group Achievement Award, WIND MFI Team
  • 1995: NASA Group Achievement Award, WIND Magnetic
    Fields Investigation
  • 1986: NASA Group Achievement Award, International
    Cometary Explorer Magnetometer Team
  • 1981: NASA Group Achievement Award, Pioneer Venus
    Orbiter Magnetometer Team

Professional Service


  • 1998–2008 Senior Project Scientist, Solar Terrestrial Probes
  • 2006–2007 Project Scientist, Magnetospheric MultiScale
  • 2003–2006 Science Advisor, GSFC Magnetic Test Facility
  • 1999–2006 Project Scientist, NMP Space Technology – 5
    Micro-satellite Constellation Mission
  • 1997 Acting Mission Scientist, IMAGE Mission
  • 1989–1991 Study Scientist, Mercury Orbiter
  • 1989–1991 Project Scientist, ISTP/POLAR
  • 1984–1986 Study Scientist, Mars Aeronomy Observer


  • 2009: Co-Investigator, BepiColombo STROFIO Investigation
  • 2009: Co-Investigator, MetNet Precusor Mission
  • 2005: Co- Investigator, MMS SMART Investigation
  • 2004: Co-Investigator, BepiColombo MERMAG Investigation
  • 2004: Co-Investigator, SWARM Mission
  • 1999: Co-Investigator, MESSENGER Mission
  • 1997: Co-Investigator, IMP 8 Magnetic Field Investigation
  • 1994: Participating Scientist, Mars Global Surveyor MAG-ER
  • 1992: Participating Scientist, Mars Observer MAG-ER
  • 1990: Co-Investigator, Mars-96 MAREMF Investigation
  • 1990: Principal Investigator, ESA Polar Platform Advanced
    Particles and Fields Observatory
  • 1989: Co‑Investigator, EOS Geomagnetic Observing System
  • 1989: Co-Investigator, GGS/WIND Magnetic Fields
  • 1989: Co‑Investigator, Dynamics Explorer‑1/2 Magnetic Fields
  • 1988: IKI Guest Investigator, Phobos‑1/2
  • 1988: Co-Investigator Cluster Magnetic Fields Investigation
  • 1987: Co‑Investigator, ISEE‑3/ICE Magnetic Fields
  • 1986: Co‑Investigator, CRAF Magnetic Fields Investigation
  • 1983: Guest Investigator, Pioneer Venus Orbiter
  • 1978: Team Member, Pioneer Venus Orbiter Magnetic Fields


  • 2014: G. A. DiBraccio, Univ. of Michigan
  • 2013: J. M. Raines, Univ. of Michigan
  • 2013: S. M. Curry, Univ. of Michigan
  • 2009: A. Masters, Imperial College
  • 2005: J. F. Chapman, University of Sydney
  • 1996: E. Kallio, University of Helsinki
  • 1993: M. B. Moldwin, Boston University


  • 2011–2013    D. J. Gershman, Univ. of Michigan
  • 2010–2012    T. K. Sundberg, Royal Tech. Univ., Stockholm
  • 2008–2011    S. M. Imber, Univ. of Leicester
  • 2007–2011    M. Sarantos, Rice University
  • 2002–2005    E.I. Tanskanen, Univ. of Helsinki
  • 1996–1998    M.C. Collier, Univ. of Maryland
  • 1996–1999    S. Taguchi, Univ. of Kyoto
  • 1993–1995    M.M. Kuznetsova, Space Research Institute
  • 1992–1995    J. J. Moses, Univ. of California   at Los Angeles 
  • 1990–1992    C.J. Owen, Imperial College


Recent First-Author Publications:

  • 59. Slavin, J. A., G. A. DiBraccio, D. J. Gershman, S. Imber, G. K. Poh, J. Raines,T. H. Zurbuchen, X. Jia, D. N. Baker, S. A. Boardsen, T. Sundberg, A. Masters, C. L. Johnson, R. M. Winslow, B. J. Anderson, H. Korth, G. Ho, S. M. Krimigis, R. L. McNutt, Jr, and S. C. Solomon (2014), MESSENGER Observations of Mercury’s Dayside Magnetosphere Under Extreme Solar Wind Conditions, J. Geophys. Res. Space Physics, 119, doi:10.1002/2014JA020319.
  • 58. Slavin, J. A., S. M. Imber, S. A. Boardsen, G. A. DiBraccio, T. Sundberg, M. Sarantos,T. Nieves-Chinchilla, A. Szabo, B. J. Anderson, H. Korth, T. H. Zurbuchen, J. M. Raines,C. L. Johnson, R. M. Winslow, R. M. Killen, R. L. McNutt, Jr., and S. C. Solomon (2012), MESSENGER Observations of a Flux Transfer Shower at Mercury, J. Geophys. Res., 117, A00M06, doi:10.1029/2012JA017926.
  • 57. Slavin, J. A. (2012), A Dynamic Twist in the Tail, Science, 336, 548 DOI: 10.1126/science.1221805.
  • 56. Slavin, J. A., B. J. Anderson, D. N. Baker, M. Benna, S. A. Boardsen, R. E. Gold, G. C. Ho, S. M. Imber, H. Korth, S. M. Krimigis, R. L. McNutt, Jr, J. M. Raines, M. Sarantos, D. Schriver, S. C. Solomon, P. Trávníček, and T. H. Zurbuchen (2012), MESSENGER Flyby Observations of Magnetotail Structure and Dynamics at Mercury, J. Geophys. Res., 117, A01215, doi:10.1029/2011JA016900.

Updated: 2017-08-18