Department of Climate and Space Sciences and Engineering in the College of Engineering at the University of Michigan


Arijit Bose
[ Download CV ]

Arijit Bose

Research Fellow

Office: 1411B
Phone: 734-764-7036/585-754-1217


  • Ph.D. Department of Physics and Astronomy, Laboratory for Laser Energetics, University of Rochester, thesis advisor: Professor Riccardo Betti
  • M.A. Physics, Department of Physics and Astronomy, University of Rochester
  • B.Sc. (Honors) in Physics, Chennai Mathematical Institute (CMI), India

Specializations and Research Interests

  • Plasma physics theory
  • Inertial Confinement Fusion and alpha-heating/burning-plasma
  • Hydrodynamic instabilities 
  • Magnetohydrodynamics and turbulence
  • High Energy Density Physics
  • Laser-Matter Interactions
  • Kinetic effects in plasmas

Honors, Awards and Accomplishments

  • 2012 – 2017, Frank J. Horton Graduate Research Fellowship, Laboratory for Laser Energetics, Rochester
  • 2012, Graduate Student Teaching Award, Department of Physics and Astronomy, University of Rochester
  • 2010, Chennai Mathematical Institute top ranking student scholarship for undergraduate summer research at École Polytechnique, France.
  • 2009, Best Poster Award, National Symposium on Radiation Physics
  • 2007-2010, Undergraduate Student full Scholarship, Chennai Mathematical Institute.


1. A. Bose et al., “Analysis of trends in implosion observables for direct-drive cryogenic implosions on OMEGA", manuscript in preparation, Phys. Plasmas (2017)

2. A. Bose, R. Betti, D. Shvarts, and K. M. Woo, “The physics of long- and intermediate-wavelength asymmetries of the hot spot: Compression hydrodynamics and energetics", Phys.. Plasmas, 24, 102704 (2017); doi: 10.1063/1.4995250

3. A. Bose, K. M. Woo, R. Betti, E. M. Campbell, D. Mangino, A. R. Christopherson, R. L. McCrory, R. Nora, S. P. Regan, V. N. Goncharov, T. C. Sangster, C. J. Forrest, J. Frenje, M. Gatu Johnson, V. Yu Glebov, J. P. Knauer, F. J. Marshall, C. Stoeckl, and W. Theobald. “Core conditions for alpha heating attained in direct-drive inertial confinement fusion”, Phys. Rev. E 94, 011201(R) (2016); doi:10.1103/PhysRevE.94.011201 Covered by physics world,, and NPR

4. A. Bose, K. M. Woo, R. Nora, and R. Betti. “Hydrodynamic scaling of the deceleration-phase Rayleigh–Taylor instability”, Physics of Plasmas 22, 072702 (2015); doi: 10.1063/1.4923438

5. S. P. Regan, V. N. Goncharov, I. V. Igumenshchev, T. C. Sangster, R. Betti, A. Bose, T. R. Boehly, M. J. Bonino, E. M. Campbell, D. Cao, T. J. B. Collins, R. S. Craxton, A. K. Davis, J. A. Delettrez, D. H. Edgell, R. Epstein, C. J. Forrest, J. A. Frenje, D. H. Froula, M. Gatu Johnson, V. Yu. Glebov, D. R. Harding, M. Hohenberger, S. X. Hu, D. Jacobs-Perkins, R. Janezic, M. Karasik, R. L. Keck, J. H. Kelly, T. J. Kessler, J. P. Knauer, T. Z. Kosc, S. J. Loucks, J. A. Marozas, F. J. Marshall, R. L. McCrory, P. W. McKenty,D. D. Meyerhofer, D. T. Michel, J. F. Myatt, S. P. Obenschain, R. D. Petrasso, P. B. Radha, B. Rice, M. J. Rosenberg, A. J. Schmitt, M. J. Schmitt, W. Seka, W. T. Shmayda, M. J. Shoup, A. Shvydky, S. Skupsky, A. A. Solodov, C. Stoeckl, W. Theobald, J. Ulreich, M. D. Wittman, K. M. Woo, B. Yaakobi, and J. D. Zuegel. “Demonstration of Fuel Hot-Spot Pressure in Excess of 50 Gbar for Direct-Drive, Layered Deuterium-Tritium Implosions on OMEGA”, Phys. Rev. Lett. 117, 025001(2016); doi: 10.1103/PhysRevLett.117.025001

6. R. Betti, A. R. Christopherson, B. K. Spears, R. Nora, A. Bose, J. Howard, K. M. Woo, M. J. Edwards, and J. Sanz; “Alpha Heating and Burning Plasmas in Inertial Confinement Fusion”, Phys. Rev. Lett. 114, 255003; doi: 10.1103/PhysRevLett.114.255003

7. R. Nora, R. Betti, K. S. Anderson, A. Shvydky, A. Bose, K. M. Woo, A. R. Christopherson, J. A. Marozas, T. J. B. Collins, P. B. Radha, S. X. Hu, R. Epstein, F. J. Marshall, R. L. McCrory, T. C. Sangster, and D. D. Meyerhofer; “Theory of hydroequivalent ignition for inertial fusion and its applications to OMEGA and the National Ignition Facility”, Physics of Plasmas 21, 056316 (2014); doi: 10.1063/1.4875331

8. W. Theobald, A. Bose, R. Yan, R. Betti, M. Lafon, D. Mangino, A. Christopherson, C. Stoeckl, W. Seka, W. Shang, D. T. Michel, C. Ren, R. Nora, A. Casner, J. Peebles, F. N. Beg, X. Ribeyre, E. L. Aisa, A. Colaitis, V. T. Tikhonchuk, and M. Wei, “Enhanced Hot-Electron Production and Strong-Shock Generation in Hydrogen-Rich Ablators for Shock Ignition", under review, Phys. Plasmas Lett. (2017)

9. A. R. Christopherson, R. Betti, A. Bose, J. A. Howard, K. M. Woo, E. Campbell, J. R. Sanz, and B. K. Spears, “A comprehensive alpha heating model for inertial confinement fusion", under review, Phys. Plasmas (2017)

10. E. L. Aisa, X. Ribeyre, G. Duchateau, T. H. Nguyen-Bui, V. T. Tikhonchuk, A. Colaitis, R. Betti, A. Bose, W. Theobald, “The role of hot electrons in the dynamics of a laser-driven strong converging shock", accepted, Phys. Plasmas (2017)

11. W. L. Shang, R. Betti, S. X. Hu, K. Woo, L. Hao, C. Ren, A. R. Christopherson, A. Bose, and W. Theobald, “Electron shock ignition of inertial fusion targets”, accepted, Phys. Rev. Lett. (2017)

Updated: 2018-03-02